Signature required? & DAW transport

Any questions about the Midronome, technical or not

Moderator: MidronomeTeam

Post Reply
J. John Mixson
Posts: 2
Joined: 02 Jun 2022, 23:08

Signature required? & DAW transport

Post by J. John Mixson »

I use Finale notation software to send note data, program change, and control change to external MIDI hardware sound modules and drum machines.
A couple of live instrument effects processors rely on sync clock for echo delay timing, etc. as do the drum machines and a sequencer.

Much like a DAW I expect, during playback the BPM is set by Finale and apparently depends on the precision of the Windows 10 clock.
It's recently become apparent that I suffer from a bad case of the jitters.

I've been searching for a solution that
A) isn't complicated by the fact that several of my scores include multiple time signature changes within them, and
B) is transparent to my workflow, in that I can start and stop playback via Finale's transport controls.

I'm really just looking for some precision solution to my CPU's imprecision. I think.

A) It seems to me that Simon might have designed Midronome to avoid a time signature requirement, but requests such as this one below are worrisome because the number of beats per bar would have to be constant. Wouldn't they?
viewtopic.php?t=64

B) I've seen another device out there that allows native transport to be used, and it requires the manufacturer's plug-in.
Finale accepts third party plugins, and a plugin is mentioned on Midronome's home page. but I'm unclear about it.

Judging by what I infer from the post below, Simon either has included or is open to including a function where Midronome is waiting for a pulse by which it can determine the BPM - one bar - before it activates downstream devices.
viewtopic.php?p=347&hilit=transport#p347

Does this mean that Midronome calculates a steady BPM based on a one bar, jittery initial clock signal sent by the PC and then syncs everything both upstream (DAW, Finale) and downstream (sequencers, etc.) to itself?

Oh, but probably the pulse is from an audio track that is unaffected by PC jitter (?)

Well, those are the two things I'm looking for, and don't think they stray too far from Simon's original intent.
If I understand the intent, that is.

Thanks very much for considering this set of circumstances.

Some comments about the forum's search capabilities:
When I search the term "time signature" in this forum, the search engine returns
"The following words in your search query were ignored because they are too common words: signature time."
When I search the term "plug-in", the return is
"Search found 0 matches: plug-in"
When I search the term "plugin", the return is
"The following words in your search query were ignored because they are too common words: plugin."
"Plugin" is how the website spells the term. Too common?!
Simon
Posts: 213
Joined: 09 Jan 2022, 22:08

Re: Signature required? & DAW transport

Post by Simon »

Hey John :)

Thanks for asking, and great you are interested!

So to quickly answer:
  • The Midronome only sends MIDI Clock (not notes - so you would have to send that another way)
  • Yes it does sync the time signature and tempo, even within the same song
  • The way it works is the Midronome syncs to an audio signal generated by a plugin in your DAW - see diagram below



Image



J. John Mixson wrote: 05 Jun 2022, 23:41 A) It seems to me that Simon might have designed Midronome to avoid a time signature requirement, but requests such as this one below are worrisome because the number of beats per bar would have to be constant. Wouldn't they?
viewtopic.php?t=64
This link is about resyncing (=restarting) devices over MIDI Clock - nothing related to your setup as you would use the audio DAW sync (i.e. the Midronome will sync to Finale and not the other way around).
Funny you mention the time signature because that IS indeed one of the biggest advantages of the Midronome over its competitors.
See this video from 10:00 where you can see the tempo and time signature changing in the DAW (in this case Studio One), and the Midronome following: https://www.facebook.com/midronome/vide ... 4440411059

J. John Mixson wrote: 05 Jun 2022, 23:41 B) I've seen another device out there that allows native transport to be used, and it requires the manufacturer's plug-in.
Finale accepts third party plugins, and a plugin is mentioned on Midronome's home page. but I'm unclear about it.
Yes the Midronome also needs a plugin.

J. John Mixson wrote: 05 Jun 2022, 23:41 Does this mean that Midronome calculates a steady BPM based on a one bar, jittery initial clock signal sent by the PC and then syncs everything both upstream (DAW, Finale) and downstream (sequencers, etc.) to itself?
Almost - it takes one bar to start the sync, but the pulses from the DAW need to be sent all the time (and this is done by the DAW plugin).
J. John Mixson wrote: 05 Jun 2022, 23:41 Judging by what I infer from the post below, Simon either has included or is open to including a function where Midronome is waiting for a pulse by which it can determine the BPM - one bar - before it activates downstream devices.
viewtopic.php?p=347&hilit=transport#p347
This link is about something very specific: whether you want the Midronome to "freeze" or to run as a Master when it is not receiving anything from your DAW.

J. John Mixson wrote: 05 Jun 2022, 23:41 Oh, but probably the pulse is from an audio track that is unaffected by PC jitter (?)
Spot on :)

Hope that answers your (many) questions :D

Cheers
Simon

PS: and sorry about the unupdated (and unclear) website, it takes a lot of time to update and I would rather focus that time on working on the prototypes and gathering new leads so we can relaunch on Kickstarter and make this a reality ;)
J. John Mixson
Posts: 2
Joined: 02 Jun 2022, 23:08

Re: Signature required? & DAW transport

Post by J. John Mixson »

Hey Simon!

Thanks very much for your informative responses.

I watched the video section demonstrating time signature change-following.
That's even better than just ignoring changes, since I expect it would address any restart concerns.

I'm looking forward to watching the whole video to learn more about the plugin.

The option to freeze or run is great, too.

[I didn't know you are responsible for forum functionality as well. I agree with your priorities.]

Best regards,
John
Simon
Posts: 213
Joined: 09 Jan 2022, 22:08

Re: Signature required? & DAW transport

Post by Simon »

Hey John

Awesome :)

Yes I am kinda the man for everything (I have a bit of help from interns on and off). After we have a successful KS I hope I get enough funds to get one employee :D

Let me know if you have any more questions!
Simon
n4Sphere
Posts: 65
Joined: 16 Mar 2022, 23:21

Re: Signature required? & DAW transport

Post by n4Sphere »

yeah simon is the man😁
Post Reply