Knob sensitivity

For bugs and features discssusions. You may suggest new features here as well.
Please do not report bugs here, use instead the "xxx Bug Reports" forums.
Milosdrummer

Knob sensitivity

Post by Milosdrummer »

Couldn't find anything on this. Maybe because nobody cares... :mrgreen:

The main knob on the Midronome has an 'accelerating' nature, which is fine I guess, considering the wide range of tempos to scroll trough. As a drummer, I got used to scroll through bpm-s on Roland modules which have a linear wheel, so this new feel is not precise enough (my setup is Midronome controlling the drum module and spd-sx), in live situation that gets cumbersome.

Maybe there could be some option to choose between different knob responses for different situations? For live gigging, even when playing a wide range of genres, there is rarely a need for tempos outside the 60-180 bpm, which does not require the knob to jump to extreme values as fast as it does now, so I guess the option to flatten the response would be very usefull.
Simon

Re: Knob sensitivity

Post by Simon »

Interesting! Yes that's correct, the knob will "accelerate" when you turn fast, so that to switch from 50 to 300 you do not need 250 clicks (the knob has 24 clicks per turn, that would be more than 10 turns!).

I actually spent a lot of time on this part of the code, to get the best feel when turning fast and keep the "per click" precision when turning slowly.

There could be a simple option to turn that feature off (as I understand this is what you want?), so that 1 click is 1 bpm change, never more.
But I thought you were changing the tempo from the app over USB anyways? :D

Simon

PS: Moved this topic to "Discussions & Debates" where it belongs ;)
Milosdrummer

Post by Milosdrummer »

Simon wrote: 24 Jul 2023, 14:02 But I thought you were changing the tempo from the app over USB anyways? :D