Loop Pedal Speed Adjustment

Any questions about the Midronome, technical or not
Drummerbean123

Loop Pedal Speed Adjustment

Post by Drummerbean123 »

Hi Simon,

I recently came across the Midronome and Kickstarter Campaign (which by the way, is it live again yet? I want to back you!) - I love the concept!

Bearing in mind I'm still new to this, I may have overlooked previous developments, but I have a question for you:

In the case where a guitar is looped through a something like a Boss RC300, I understand firstly, the Midronome would sync to that. Taking it from there, in the drum world, there would be an SPD-SX set up, which would play pre-recorded loops and samples, but also be using the tap-tempo on a pad control (not button control), allowing any pre-saved loops and samples within that kit to morph to that new tempo without pitch being affected, and also, in turn, being able to adjust the Midronome tempo.

NOW, the question lies in this: with the Midronome also controllable from the SPD-SX, would only the click tempo (from the Midronome) be affected (essentially, the 'canvas'), or is it possibe that, in the same way as loops and samples within the SPD-SX can morph, would loop speed from the guitar loop pedal also be controllable from the drum world through the Midronome? And without pitch being affected? (Although I can imagine pitch bend could be a cool feature, where desired!)

Thanks in advance! And I hope this makes sense!
Simon

Re: Loop Pedal Speed Adjustment

Post by Simon »

Hey there!

Yes Kickstarter is relaunching - tomorrow :) Join the mailing list (on the website) for more info.

Regarding your tech questions:

The first thing to realize is that the Midronome is the master clock expect in particular cases (following an audio signal to sync to a DAW is one of them).

It sends MIDI Clock (among others) which I believe the RC-300 can follow, and the SPD-SX also can follow.

It also sends MIDI Start/Stop, which should be able to